This Town

This poem pretty much speaks for itself… Enjoy.

 

I stood for many sunsets on this roof,

watching the golden horizon exchange for the blue-black darkness of night.

I made more plays than I can count

on that softball field the next generation practices on.

There’s the cinema I worked in,

now owned by a new company.

This is where the local theatre used to be,

where I performed before it was shut down.

This place holds so many things.

My memories. My family. My childhood.

Unfortunately in this new chapter of my life,

there is no room in my mind for

this small town.

It has given me everything it could

but now it’s just not enough.

I don’t want to live and die

in this same Central Pennsylvanian lifestyle.

I want to broaden my mind.

I want to see the world.

I don’t want to constantly walk

on eggshells, pretending to be friends

with people who

ridiculed me

and treated me like I was nothing,

which is what I was until now.

Thank you, small town, for getting me here,

and thank you for your hospitality.

But I’m going onward and upward.

To new, and much greater things.

All my love,

Corrine.

 

Leave a Reply

